Eye-balling at Clothes Show Live

Clothes Show Live celebrated its 21st outing in Birmingham in true style last week with top stars including Gok Wan, Fearne Cotton, Marvyn Williams plus every fashion brand you could ever want in your wardrobe as Eica Crompton found out…

I felt lucky that my leggy fashion pal, Natalie Fahey, had invited me to work there for Missguided.co.uk, a new fashion website that does the best deals on the latest looks.

The crowd this year – already dressed in the latest garb – seemed younger and more bright-eyed than ever before. While I scoffed at the shrieks made in response to the male models, I was secretly feeling just as smitten and my eyes almost fell out several times.

In fact I didn’t think I’d get my eyes back after meeting Leed’s very own Marvyn Williams – DJ and Shipwrecked star!

He was presenting on the Company stage opposite our stand.

He told me:

“It’s been a great year at the Clothes Show Live – a chance for every budding designer to showcase their finer ranges and a chance for me to get back into good habits and don the stage for another week of fun fuelled presenting! It’s the perfect place to rustle out a few original pieces from independent designers something I always end up doing!”

Mainstream fashion really needs more hot brown (and Northern?) faces like this – male and female. And here is one destined for bigger things than fashion, surely.

Once I’d got my eyes back, I used them to figure out what to buy from the Missguided.co.uk stand where I was anchored:

A cashmere-mix duffle for £39.99 (in black or grape) and a black fine gauze cardigan with Born To be Wild sequinned on, £28.99. There was a navy version in the same knit and of the same price, with Loyal to the Core on the chest.

But I’m way too fickle and fashion for the latter, darrling!

A really cute jumper kept catching the light with it’s sequin strawberry on the front too. I missguidedly thought it was winking at me and purchased it at £22.99.

A Missguided bargain indeed.

Clothes Show Live was fashion heaven and I even got to indulge in a tenner’s worth of palmistry with a bonafide gypsy. For those that don’t know psychics et al are a ubiquitous fashion statement immortalised in Plum Sykes’ book Bergdorf Blondes.

Other highlights for the whippersnappers in attendance included thousands of goody bags which were being dished out left right and centre along with beauty samples from Tigi haircare and Bourjois.

I hoodwinked about 20 of the latter which would more than make up for the cost of a ticket to the event and my poor aching eyes. Any excuse to buy a new pair of shades at next years show.

Leave a Reply

